APC in shock as Adeleke defeats Hussain

APC in shock as Adeleke defeats HussainAdemola Adeleke, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has been declared winner of the by-election in Osun west senatorial district.

Adeleke polled a total of 97,480 votes to defeat Mudashiru Hussain of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who secured 66,116 votes.

Rauf Aregbesola, governor of the state, had led the campaign of Hussain, touring all the local government areas with him.

Announcing the result of the election in Iwo, Baritor Kpagih, INEC residential electoral commissioner for the election, said Adeleke won nine out of the 10 local government areas where the election held.

He consequently returned the PDP candidate as senator to complete the tenure of Isiaka, his elder brother who died on April 23.

He gave the breakdown of the election result as follows:

Aiyedaade APC 7,179
PDP 9,091
Egbedore  APC 4,768
PDP 7,142
Ejigbo APC 12,226
PDP 9,723
Aiyediire APC 5,360
PDP 5,789
Olaoluwa APC 5,316
PDP 5,618
Iwo APC 12,205
PDP 12,547
Irewole APC 8,953
PDP 9,094
Ede North APC 2,784
PDP 18,559
Ede South APC 2,096
PDP 13,406
Isokan APC 5,227
PDP 6,539
Total APC 66,116
PDP 97,480

Adeleke had expressed confidence that he would beat his “opponent hands down”.


Source –  www.thecable.ng 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.