2019: Sokoto APC endorses President Buhari’s sole candidature, confident of Wamakko’s leadership

Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko (APC-Sokoto)
Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko (APC-Sokoto)

By Ado Hassan, Sokoto

LESS than three weeks to the All Progressives Congress(APC) primaries ahead of  the 2019 general elections closely coming, members of the   Sokoto State chapter unanimously opted for the indirect primary with the edorsement of the choice of President Muhammadu Buhari as sole candidate to fly its flag.

Similarly, the chapter passed vote of confidence on the Chairman, Northern Senators Forum,  Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko and  affirmed him as its only leader in the state .

The decisions were part of the resolutions reached at the end of the party’s routine stakeholders’ meeting held in Sokoto on Tuesday attended by  the executives of the party at the state and local governments levels, as well as other key stakeholders of the party.

However, the meeting held behind closed doors, was presided by the State Deputy Governor, Alhaji Ahmed Aliyu Sokoto, described Senator Aliyu Magatakarda Wamakko as the Iconic leader of the party in the state .

Briefing newsmen shortly after,  Aliyu Sokoto further said , ” the meeting also expressed happiness with the exemplary and unparalleled way and manner Senator Wamakko is manning the affairs of the great party .

” Accordingly, we endorsed President Muhammadu Buhari as the party’s sole presidential candidate for the forthcoming polls”‘ he said.

The state chapter of the party also declared unflinching support to its national leadership .
adding, ” we have unanimously adopted indirect primary election and consensus as the process to select candidates for all positions in the state ,” the deputy governor, added.

He explained that the meeting was a periodic one to brainstorm on the progress of the party, as well as to review its general activities with the view to assess its strengths and weaknesses, hence, chart the ways forward .

Notably in attendance, were the seven incumbent House of Representatives members of the party, as well as the twelve members at the State House of Assembly .

Similarly, were a former deputy governor, Alhaji Chiso Dattijo Abdullahi, former Culture Minister, Senator Bello Jibril Gada, APC Chieftains , Alhaji Abubakar Shehu Tambuwal, Ambassador Abubakar Shehu Wurno and  Alhaji Farouk Malami Yabo.

Others were former Speakers of the state House of Assembly,  Alhaji Lawalli Labbo Marghai and Alhaji Shehu Goronyo,  as well as fourteen  out of the twenty three immediate past local governments councils chairmen in the State,  among others .

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.