APC Congress: Sokoto returns 36 Excos unopposed

By Suleiman Adamu , Sokoto

All 36 former executives of Sokoto state All Progressives Congress ( APC) were Saturday returned unopposed by delegates at its state congress conducted and concluded peacefully with Sadiq Isah Achida retaining his chairmanship position.

The party adopted consensus following he affirmation of delegates from across he 23 LGs that participated .

Among 35 others that emerged were; Abubakar Muhammad Yabo as Secretary and Alhaji Haruna Adiya accordingly.

No fewer than 1179 accredited delegates converged on the Sultan Abubakar road Diplomat Area Sokoto, party Secretariat venue for the exercise under the supervision of high powered Electoral Team from he patty’,s National Headquarters as well INEC officials.

Speaking, Chairman of the Electoral Team ,Suleiman Abubakar Akko who commended he exercise described it as peaceful stressing that APC remain the most vibrant and dependable choice with steady record of unity and strength of political prowess.

According to him” we have witnessed a smooth and acceptable exercise . We are not aware of any parallel congress in Sokoto.”

He however, assured that the party would set of a responsive reconciliatory machinery under a credible committee membership composition that would look into issues regarding the exercise for the party to forge ahead accordingly.

Abubakar maintained that APC was fast waxing stronger than ever towards 2023.

In his remarks, Senator Aliyu Wamakko who attributed the outcome of the peaceful exercise to the show of hope, strength and resilience of members for keeping the party alive and strong in Sokoto state, added ” No party is as vibrant as APC in the state and Nigeria. We have done justice to all stakeholders to be able to achieve this promising results.”

Wamakko further debunked any knowledge of parallel congress exercise ” I have no idea of knowledge that a parallel congress took place or conducted by anyone.

Key party chieftains present during the exercise included the Minister of Police Affairs, Muhammad Maigari Dingyadi, Alhaji Yusuf Suleiman, Alhaji Ahmed Aliyu Sokoto, former Ambassadors Sahabi Isah Gada and Shehu Wurno , Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir , HoRs members, State legislators among others.
Meanwhile, the Hon. Abdullahi Balarabe Salame led faction allegedly conducted a parallel congress at a separate venue to produce Muhammad Bello Dogon Daji as its Chairman while Alhassan Ibrahim Rara and Ahmed Abubakar emerged Secretary and Vice Chairman respectively among others.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.