Wednesday, March 22, 2023
HomeNewsINEC Awards Certificates of Return to senators-elect

INEC Awards Certificates of Return to senators-elect

The Independent National Electoral Commission on Tuesday presented Certificates of Return to senators-elect.

The Chairman of INEC, Mahmood Yakubu, presented the certificates to the winners of the just concluded senatorial elections held on February 25 at the National Collation Centre, also referred to as the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

The electoral body had last Wednesday presented the President-elect, Bola Tinubu, and the Vice President-elect, Kashim Shettima their certificates.

Yakubu had on Saturday said winners were declared for 423 legislative seats, indicating that supplementary elections would be conducted in 46 other constituencies.

The elected legislators include 98 out of 109 Senate, and 325 out of 360 House of Representatives seats. Seven parties won in the Senate, while eight parties won House of Representatives seats.

House of Representatives-elect are expected to receive theirs on Wednesday at the same venue.

Below is a list of senatorial seats won by political parties for the 10th Assembly:

APC – 57

PDP – 29

LP – 6

SDP – 2

NNPP – 2

YPP – 1

APGA – 1




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular