PDP Governors’ Forum Congratulates Newly Inaugurated NASS Leadership

The Peoples’ Democratic Party, (PDP), Governors’ Forum, has congratulated the newly elected leadership of the 9th National Assembly, inaugurated on Tuesday June 11.

The Chairman of the Forum, Governor Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa State, gave the congratulatory message in a statement issued by his Special Adviser on Public Affairs, Mr. Daniel Alabrah, in Abuja.

Dickson urged the new National Assembly leadership to guarantee the independence of the legislature in accordance with democratic attributes, as well ensure that the rights of Nigerians were defended and well protected.

It could be recalled that the Senate on Tuesday June 11, elected Ahmed Lawan as its President and Ovie Omo-Agege as Deputy Senate President, while Femi Gbajabiamila was elected as Speaker of House of Representatives and Ahmed Wase as Deputy Speaker.

Dickson said that what transpired in the National Assembly on Tuesday was democracy in action, urging them to be conscious of the fact that they emerged at a trying time in the nation’s democracy.

He said the principal officers assumed these high positions at a trying time in the nation’s democracy, adding that this reality must not be lost on them.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.