Friday, May 24, 2024
HomeNewsSokoto government dethrones 15 traditional leaders, four others being investigated for various...

Sokoto government dethrones 15 traditional leaders, four others being investigated for various offences

By Suleiman Adamu, Sokoto

Fifteen Sokoto traditional leaders have been dethroned by the Sokoto state government for various offences.

However, four others were still being investigated.

The offences bordered on aiding insecurity, land racketeering and others.

The development followed recommendations of the committee earlier set up by Governor Ahmed Aliyu to review appointment of traditional leaders, renaming of higher institutions and dissolution of Governing Boards of state parastatals other than the statutory bodies.

Their dethronement which was immediate, was announced Tuesday night in a statement issued by Abubakar Bawa, Press Secretary to the governor who explained that 15 had been dethroned ” 6 were because of non compliance with process in their appointments”, he said while making the state government decision known.

Bawa also said 7 other traditional leaders were retained while the District Heads of Sabon Birni local government and his counterpart from Binji were transferred to Gatawa and Bubkari districts respectively.

Meanwhile , the state reads in part, “District Heads of Tsaki and Asara are to retain their seats. Cases involving District Heads of Isa, Kuchi, Kilgori and Gagi were recommended for further investigation.

“The District Heads of Sabon Birni and that of Binji have been transfered to Gatawa and Bubkari Districts respectively . “

The District Heads of Unguwar Lalle, Yabo, Wamakko, Tullawa, Illela, Dogon Daji, Kebbe, Alkammu and that of Giyawa have been relieved of their appointments for various offences bordering on aiding insecurity, land racketeering, conversion of public properties for personal use amongst others .“

The District Heads of Marafan Tangaza, Sarkin Gabas Kalambaina, Bunun Gogono, Saekin Kudun Yar Tsakkuwa, Sarkin Tambuwal and Sarkin Yamman Toroankawa have all been dropped hence their appointments didn’t follow process”

Accordingly, the governor’s spokesperson also disclosed that Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar has been retained as the Ciroman Sokoto, Ibrahim Dasuki Mohammed Maccido as Barayan Zaki, Abubakar Bukari Salame as Sarkin Arewan Salame, while Alhaji Aminu Aliyu Balle remained Sarkin Yamman Balle.

Others who retained their positions include Alhaji Mahmud Shahu Yabo as Sarkin Gabas Dandin Mahe, Alhaji Muntari Muhammad Tukur Ambarura as Sarkin Gabas Ambarura while Malam Isa Aliyu Rarah retains Saekin Gabas Rarah.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

sildenafil generic australia on Abandoned IDP Camp Discovered In Kaduna
Yakkon Damaryam on The War against Glaucoma
Shehu Danbaki on IMG-20181125-WA0070
Seth Yamusa on Hon Danjuma Peter Averik
Ibraheem Awowole on MEET OUR PATHFINDER FOR OSUN 2018
Amb. Hoom'Suk. on Sarauniya Beauty Pageant 2017