Sokoto LGs poll: PDP sweeps all 23 councils

By Ado Hassan, Sokoto

The Sokoto State Independent Electoral Commission(SIEC) has declared candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winners of the local government elections held Saturday across the 23 councils in the state.

The elections were contested among ten political parties excluding major opposition APC which boycotted he exercise , returned all chairmanship and councillorship candidates from across the 244 wards of the ruling party victorious after votes count collated from 3,035 polling units.

Announcing the results collated and presented by respective Returning Officers Sunday night after certification, the Commission Chairman, Alhaji Aliyu Suleiman said having duly satisfied all the requirement and scored the highest number of votes, ” I declare the following as winners of the local government councils poll for chairmanship positions.” :
Sabon Birni: Alhaji Umaru Danyaro( PDP- 43,968), Silame: Bello Muhammad(PDP-22,924), Sokoto North: Mustapha Shehu(PDP-39,274), Sokoto South: Fauku Abdulrahman(PDP- 39,187), Tambuwal: Nasiru Babata(PDP- 48,928), Tangaza: Isah Salihu(PDP-31,154), Tureta: Abubakar Salihu(PDP-20,534), Wamakko: Bello Haliru Gwiwa(PDP-42,368), Wurno: Abubakar Arzika Wurno(PDP-30,789), Yabo: Aliyu Abubakar(PDP-27,173), Shagari: Aliyu Dantani(PDP-29,460), Rabah: Yahaya Abdullahi(PDP-28,894), Kware: Ja’afaru Hamza(PDP-27,756), Kebbe: Alhaji Lawali Dan Marafa(PDP-24,219), Isa: Alndukadir Dankadi(PDP-48,807), Ilella: Aminu Salihu(PDP-32,652), Gwadabawa: Alhaji Aminu Aya(PDP-42,709), Gudu: Alhaji Bello Wakili(PDP-13,731), Goronyo: Abdulrahman Yahaya(PDP-40,521), Gada: Garba Yakubu Tsitse(PDP-73,643), Dange Shuni: au Buba(PDP-34, 841), Bodinga: Shehu Muhammad (PDP-27,806) and Binji: Wadata Muhammad(PDP-21,080).

While declaring the results said that the exercise was impressive , peaceful and hitch free.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.