Tuesday, December 5, 2023
HomeNewsNigeria and 23 other African countries Scheduled to Conduct election in 2023

Nigeria and 23 other African countries Scheduled to Conduct election in 2023

Nigeria and 24 other african countries are scheduled to usher in new government in the year 2023.

According to Electoral Institute for Sustainable Democracy in Africa, countries like Nigeria, Gabon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Somaliland, Sudan, and Zimbabwe will be conducting their presidential elections.

Other countries include the Central African Republic, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Togo and Swaziland for regional, district and local elections.

With Nigeria being one of the world’s focus, the Independent National Electoral Commission has restated its commitment to ensuring that there is a free, fair and credible election scheduled to hold on February 23.

The President, Muhammadu Buhari corroborated INEC’s position on delivering a free and fair election at an interactive session entitled, “A conversation with President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria,” co-hosted by the United State Institute of Peace, the International Republican Institute, the National Endowment for Democracy, and the International Foundation for Electoral Systems.

He said, INEC was ready because he made sure they were given all the resources they asked because he does not want any excuses that they were denied funds by the government.

In the build-up to the election, 18 political parties have fielded candidates and their running mates, with the major ones being Bola Ahmed Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress; Abubakar Atiku of the Peoples Democratic Party; Peter Obi of the Labour Party and Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party.

Others are Imumolen Christopher (Accord Party), Al-Mustapha Hamza (Action Alliance), Sowore Omoyele (African Action Congress), Kachikwu Dumebi (African Democratic Congress), Sani Yabagi Yusuf (Action Democratic Party), Umeadi Peter Nnanna (All Progressives Grand Alliance), Ojei Princess Chichi – Allied People’s Movement (APM), Nnamdi Charles Osita (Action Peoples Party), Adenuga Sunday Oluwafemi (Boot Party), Osakwe Felix Johnson (National Rescue Movement), Abiola Latifu Kolawole (Peoples Redemption Party), Adebayo Adewole Ebenezer (Social Democratic Party), Ado-Ibrahim Abdumalik (Young Progressives Party), and Nwanyanwu Daniel Daberechukwu (Zenith Labour Party). Punch

Procyon News



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

sildenafil generic australia on Abandoned IDP Camp Discovered In Kaduna
Yakkon Damaryam on The War against Glaucoma
Shehu Danbaki on IMG-20181125-WA0070
Seth Yamusa on Hon Danjuma Peter Averik
Ibraheem Awowole on MEET OUR PATHFINDER FOR OSUN 2018
Amb. Hoom'Suk. on Sarauniya Beauty Pageant 2017