Sokoto LG Polls: CP imposes movement restriction order, warns against violence

By Ado Hassan, Sokoto

Mr Kamaldeen Kola Okunlola, Sokoto state Commissioner of Police yesterday said movement restrictions order would be enforced during the state local government elections on Saturday.

Similarly, Okunlola said the police will remain absolutely impartial, pointing out that it will not hesitate to be hard on anyone trying to cause violence.

He said no stone will be left unturned at ensuring a peaceful , free, fair and credible exercise expected to produce an acceptable outcome.

Okunlola made the disclosures at the stakeholders meeting and the signing of Peace Accord by the participating political parties and their candidates.

According to him, the rules of engagement would not be discarded to ensure proper security ” there will be movement restriction between 6am and 4pm when voting is expected to conclude for counting.

” All security agencies will be deployed across polling units and I expect all party chairmen to control and advise their followers against any act of violence as the law is no respecter of anyone found violating orders “, he stressed.

Also, the state INEC REC represented by the Head ,Political parties and Monitoring , Ahmed Musa reminded all the participating political parties and candidates to consider themselves as frontline stakeholders who should encourage sportsmanship by playing according to the rules of the game

” You should cooperate with the requirements of the process in order to achieve a credible outcome of the exercise.”

The State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) Chairman, Alhaji Aliyu Suleiman said the commission had made proper arrangement to ensure a smooth exercise while urging political parties, candidates and their followers to adhere to the rules of the game for a free, fair and credible conduct.

However, Alhaji Namadina Abdurahman who presided over the signing of the Peace Accord and witnessed by the representative of INEC REC, Professor Dangoggo Dogon Daji and Alhaji Aliyu Sidi, President Assatahir Foundation, said ten political parties have agreed to sign and uphold to the terms of the accord .

The political parties are Accord (A), ADC, APGA, APP, APM, Boot Party, PDP, YPP and ZLP.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.