Thursday, April 18, 2024
HomeNewsSultan turbans 20 titles, urges their support as 3 Dasukis emerge

Sultan turbans 20 titles, urges their support as 3 Dasukis emerge

By Ado Hassan, Sokoto

THE ancient city of Sokoto , seat of the caliphate, took a unique turn to offer its famous traditional honour and hospitality to visitors as twenty new royalties triumphed in with their titles in the Sultanate when Sultan Muhammad Sa’ad Abubakar performed the official turbanning with a call on the title holders to remain committed to the course of strengthening the administrative roles and responsibilities of the caliphate to humanity.

Sultan Abubakar who presided over the turbanning traditional and cultural rites in order of their respective royal titles noted that the event was historic as it retraced the footprints of late Othman Bn Fodiyo’s purposeful legacies.

According to him, ” it is not actualised nor influenced by any political sentiment. It is done based on merits and conviction as brothers who were tested and trusted for their track records”, he stated.

The revered leader ” the caliphate will sustain the tempo by extending the honour beyond Sokoto in times to come”, he assured while stressing that Sokoto remain a true centre and hub for unity of Nigerians irrespective of background.

Abubakar added” it is our humble believe that the new title holders would assist towards achieving a favourable and rewarding Ramadan in peace and benefit for the Muslims. We keep attracting people closer to the caliphate.”

Former Governor Ibrahim Idris of Kogi state set the pace as he took the lead to be turbanned ‘Jekadan Sakkwato” before the presence of Governor Aminu Waiziri Tambuwal and other dignitaries who showed faces to add colours to the event that was also characterised by the presence of other high and top from across all works of life in the country.

Prominent among the twenty titles turbanned were three sons of the 18th Sultan of Sokoto, late Ibrahim Dasuki which included a former lawmaker in the National Assembly and serving Commissioner for Finance in the cabinet of Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal , Hon. Abdussamad Dasuki( Santurakin Sakkwato), Abubakar Dasuki( Dan Majen Sakkwato) and Alhaji Khadir Abba Dasuki( Durbin Sakkwato).

Also were Director General , National Automotive Design and Development Council (NADDC), Jelani Aliyu Dogon Daji, former Minister of Sports, Alhaji Yusuf Suleiman who is also the Board Chairman , NAFDAC, and Alhaji Musa Bashar , father to oil magnate, Abdulrahman Musa Bashar were respectively on roll for the titles of ” Dan Amar Sakkwato” and “Mayanan Sakkwato”

However, the August event which marked the first of its kind in the history of the caliphate, took a special dimension as three historic gates among others in the ancient city were shut to ensure crowd control and smooth conduct of the much awaited event while observing the Covid-19 protocols.

The gates linking the Sultan’s palace included: Kofar Taramniya, Kofar Marke and Kofar Rini were temporarily shut most especially to vehicles, cyclists and suspicious persons.

Dasuki who was the cynosure of well wishers , was decked in his royal regalia , mounted on the back of a well dressed Horse after turbanning amidst traditional drummers

He and his other two brothers triumphantly led to the Miyatti Allah, Sokoto residence along Sultan Atiku / Gusau road where they were thrilled by a popular Kano singer of ‘Abba Gida-Gida’ among other Kannywood actors and actresses that added glamour to the historic event.

However, train of Horses were displayed at a brief durbar-like procession that climaxed the occasion to the admiration of guests.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

sildenafil generic australia on Abandoned IDP Camp Discovered In Kaduna
Yakkon Damaryam on The War against Glaucoma
Shehu Danbaki on IMG-20181125-WA0070
Seth Yamusa on Hon Danjuma Peter Averik
Ibraheem Awowole on MEET OUR PATHFINDER FOR OSUN 2018
Amb. Hoom'Suk. on Sarauniya Beauty Pageant 2017