2019: Isa Ashiru Wins Kaduna PDP Guber Primary Election

Isa Ashiru

Hon Isa Ashiru, Ex House of Representatives member, and one of the top contenders in the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, election primaries concluded on Monday, October 1, 2018, at the International Trade Fair complex kaduna, has emerged as the flagbearer of the Party

He was one of the Influencial member of the PDP before he decamped to All Progressives Congress, (APC) before returning to the Peoples Democratic Party.
Isa Ashiru who polled 1330 votes defeated his closest opponent Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi with 766 victory margin on the list of the10 contenders.
The primaries which lasted for 23 hours started at exactly 2.57pm on Sunday September 30, 2018, witnessed all aspirants with their agents and INEC representatives in attendance to monitor the proceedings.
The first to be sighted amongst the aspirants at the venue of the primaries was the immediate past governor of the state, Dr. Mukhtar Ramalan Yero.
Other aspirants include: Ja’afaru Sa’ad. Shuaibu Yakubu, Isa Ashiru, Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi, Mohammed Sani Sidi, Barrister Jonathan Kish Adamu a one time Attorney General of Kaduna State, Dauda Ahmadu Ibrahim, Muhammad Sani Bello and Muhammed Bello Umar.
While the primaries was in progress, and with 20 local governments delegates to cast their votes out of the 23 local government, Jafar Sa’ad and Muhammad Bello Umar respectively withdrew from the race, urging the delegates to vote wisely in the interest of the Party.
A total of 2,654 delegates voted to democratically elect Hon Ashiru, now the main challenger of the incumbent Governor Nasir el-Rufai emerged.
Our reporter who observed the process reports that the atmosphere was calm and under control amidst tight security from the Nigerian Security and Civil Defence Corps, Nigerian Police Force and the Kaduna State Vigilante Services.
He also reports that the process that produced the winner was transparent, credible and fair.
Below are the details of the votes and the how the Aspirants stand of:
(1)Ja’afaru Sa’ad. – withdrew
(2)Shuaibu Yakubu Miqat – 16 votes
(3) Isa Ashiru – 1,330 votes
(4)Senator Suleiman Hunkuyi – 564 votes
(5) Mohammed Sani Sidi – 560 votes
(6) Jonathan Kish Adamu -2
(7)Dauda Ahmadu Ibrahim -0
(8) Muhammad Sani Bello -0
(9) Muhammed Bello Umar – withdraw
(10) Muktar Ramalan Yero – 36 votes
Votes casted: 2,654
Invalid votes: 39
Before the official announcement of the results other contenders including Sen. Suleiman Hunkuyi, Sani Sidi congratulated the winner

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.